Home  »  News  »  Press Releases

Dr. Yilu Liu, the joint UT–Oak Ridge National Laboratory Governor’s Chair for Electric Power Grids, received some impressive news Monday morning as she was named a newly elected member of the National Academy of Engineering.Liu 2015 site visit.jpg

Liu, who serves as a professor of electrical engineering and computer science, becomes the fifth member of the College of Engineering so honored.

She joins John Fisher Distinguished Professor Mark Dean and University Distinguished Professor Jack Dongarra, both of computer science; Chancellor's Professor and McKamey Professor of Engineering George Pharr of materials science and engineering; and Governor’s Chair for Nuclear Materials Steven Zinkle of nuclear engineering as UT's active members.

Liu is also a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and deputy director of CURENT (Center for Ultra-Wide-Area-Resilient Electric Energy Transmission Networks) Engineering Research Center at UT.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.

According to NAE President C. D. Mote Jr., academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education … the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."

Warren Oliver, president of Nanomechanics Inc. of Oak Ridge, was also elected. He is a 1976 materials science graduate of UT. 

Read the UT article. 


(In the photo above, Dr. Liu is conversing with a visitor at CURENT's 2015 NSF site visit.)